Chocolate-Chocolate Chunk Muffins

Now that school is over and the warm weather has emerged, I have what seems to be TONS of free time. Even though I would love to spend most of it baking, my summer schedule mostly involves doing lots and lots of gymnastics and learning some brand new pieces on viola. Gymnastics is what I’ll be doing for most of my summer for 20 hours a week, training to be able to compete (hopefully) Level 9 next year. As you can imagine, the skill level that you need to transition from Level 8 to Level 9 is more involved, and I’ll be sure to keep you guys posted on what I’m working on at the moment. This past week, I did my first backhandspring-backhandspring connected on the low beam without mats, which was quite an accomplishment for me, seeing that beam is by far the scariest piece of apparatus for me.

Gymnastics ends at 1:30, so I have the entire afternoon to do whatever I please (technically). Along with baking and posting, I’m looking to move foreward as far as my viola repertoire goes. At MSM Precollege, your final, which is called your jury, has many different requirements, and as you get older, you need to play more difficult music. Since I’ll be moving into the next age category this coming school year, and (hopefully) doing my share of concerto competitions around the area, I’ll be practicing a lot this summer in order to be prepared for this upcoming competition season, and even my jury next year! My teacher is going to be away the entire summer, but thankfully, I was able to get fingerings for all of the music.

BUT, onto these muffins. I had high expectations for these muffins, seeing as they were from Dorie’s Baking Book, despite the fact that I found the recipe off of Brown Eyed Baker. Coming out of the oven, these were some of the prettiest muffins that I had ever seen, with their perfectly cracked, dark chocolatey top. The rich chocolate flavor added a spunk to my morning, and straight out of the oven, the chocolate chips were perfectly melted and made getting up in the morning so much easier. Although these might be a little indulgent for your everyday breakfast (especially when trying to keep your bikini body!), these are a great weekend splurge and a fantastic addition to any brunch.

Chocolate-Chocolate Chunk Muffins

Makes 12 Muffins

Ingredients

  • 3/4 stick unsalted butter (6 tablespoons)
  • 4 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions:
1. Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Butter or spray the 12 molds in a regular-size muffin pan or fit with paper muffin cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.

2. Melt the butter and half the chopped chocolate together in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Remove from the heat.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, egg and vanilla extract together until well combined. Pour the liquid ingredients and the melted butter and chocolate over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Do not overmix the batter. Stir in the remaining chopped chocolate. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.

4. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mold.

So easy, so delicious. Enjoy!

-Rayna :)

One thought on “Chocolate-Chocolate Chunk Muffins

  1. Hiya very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?I am glad to seek out numerous helpful information right here within the put up, we’d like work out more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

