Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Frosting

Good Morning! I hope everyone’s week is off to a great start. This week is filled with fun things for me, which I am super excited about. I’m currently sitting in a hotel room in Michigan, off to do some college visits. After I fly back tonight, I’m only in school for 2 days before my physics class and I head to Six Flags for Physics day! After a long day at the amusement park, I’m headed straight to upstate New York for even more visiting. I can’t wait!
-1
This week was also a bittersweet goodbye to MSM for another year. Most of my friends graduated this year, so I was so proud of them but also so sad that they won’t be able to join me again for next year. I took all of my finals and did my make up jury, which I’m happy to say I got an A- on! Overall, it’s been a stressful few weeks, but now that it’s over, I’m so excited to get back in the kitchen and work on making some great summer recipes for you guys!
-12
As you’ve probably figured out by now, I love dessert. My favorites have to be a warm oatmeal brown sugar cookie coming out of the oven, but cupcakes are a close second. I was looking for a cupcake recipe that has ingredients that you probably all have in your pantry right now, because I don’t have zucchini flowers or stone fruits all the time, so I know you don’t too. While the cupcake was so moist and delicious, the highlight for me was the frosting. It is too easy to make and absolutely fantastic. The combination of the peanut butter and the cream cheese makes it so creamy, but the brown sugar makes sure that it doesn’t get as sweet or chalky because of the copious amounts of powdered sugar that other recipes use. What are you waiting for? Get baking!

-9

Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Frosting from How Sweet It Is

makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt, stirring to mix. Set aside. Line a cupcake tin with liners.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk brown sugar and egg until smooth. Add in vanilla extract and milk, again mixing until combined. Slowly pour in melted butter, continuing to whisk. Add in the flour, soda and salt, mixing with a large spoon until batter is smooth.
  3. Using a 1/4 cup measure, add batter to liners. Bake for 16-19 minutes, or until tops are puffy and golden, and don’t jiggle when touched. Let cool completely.

Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Frosting

  • 6 ounces cold cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup loosely packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • raw turbinado sugar for topping, if desired
  1. Add cream cheese to the bowl of an electric mixer. Beat until smooth, then add peanut butter and vanilla extract, mixing until combined. Add in brown and powdered sugars gradually, with the mixture on low speed. Once everything has been added, turn to medium-high speed and mix for 4-5 minutes, occasionally scraping down the sides. If you’d like the frosting a bit sturdier, add additional powdered sugar 1/4 cup at a time, mixing like before. Frost cupcakes!

The perfect way to make any boring meal extraordinary. I’ll be waiting (for the frosting of course)!

-Rayna :)

6 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Frosting

  1. You’ve got some great cake and bread recipes here–I’m loving ‘em! Have fun on your college visits–and I always did like Physics field trips to Six Flags ;)

Leave a Reply

