Ginger Peach Corn Muffins

Good morning, everyone! This is my first post on RTTC as a high school senior, which is just crazy! We started school on Tuesday, and I can tell it’s going to be a fun, but hard year. I’m taking 3 AP level classes this year, and if you combine that with being in 3 chamber groups and training 12 hours a week, I’m not going to have tons of spare time on my hands. So, I’m trying to get as much baking in before my schedule starts going too crazy!

DSC_0001One of the classes that I’m most excited to take this year is culinary. Because of my past food experiences (aka this blog and my mom’s a chef and I love to cook), I was able to skip the basic classes and go right into the advanced class. The class is revolved around creating detailed menus, each with multiple parts. I don’t exactly mind being able to bake in the middle of the day, either. :)

DSC_0058One thing that I realized on RTTC was the lack in gluten-free recipes. No one in my house has any need to eat gluten-free, but I realize that my family is fortunate, and many other families have to eat a wheat free lifestyle. While I did make the crisp with a gluten free topping, I wanted to experiment a little more with gluten-free baking. I stumbled across the BabycakesNYC cookbook, and this vegan, low sugar, gluten-free muffin immediately caught my attention. It’s nearing the end of summer, so I wanted to make sure I could get in all my peach baking before apple/pumpkin (aka fall baking) begins again. Enjoy!

Ginger Peach Corn Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

Roasted Peaches

  • 4 cups sliced, fresh peaches, peeled (if desired)
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Muffins

  • 2/3 cup almond milk (can use rice milk to make it nut-free)
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2-3 teaspoons ground ginger (personal preference)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper/Silpat.
  2. In a medium bowl, toss together the peach slices, agave nectar, and lemon. Spread the peaches evenly on the baking sheet and place in the middle rack of the oven for 20 minutes, or until the sugars on the outside are caramelized. Let the peaches stand until cooled, approximately 30 minutes.
  3. Keep the oven at 325 while preparing a 12-muffin baking tin. Combine the almond milk and the apple cider vinegar, and let sit (this creates a buttermilk-like substitute).
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, cinnamon and ginger. Add the oil, agave nectar, applesauce and vanilla to the dry ingredients and stir until the batter is smooth. Pour in the “buttermilk” and mix gently until just incorporated.
  5. Pour 1/3 cup batter into each muffin tin, until it is practically full. Top each muffin with a roasted peach wedge (or 2). Bake on the center rack for 22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Let the muffins cool in the tin for 15 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to finish. Can be stored in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Gluten free, low sugar, vegan, and dairy free? Sounds like a winning recipe.

-Rayna :)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ginger Peach Corn Muffins

  1. These muffins look delicious! I love all those gorgeous peach slices peeking out of the muffin tops. :)
    Culinary class sounds like fun; and it sounds like you’re going to be pretty busy!
    Pinning this. :D

Leave a Reply

