Chewy Butterfinger Blondies

Happy Halloween! I hope your day is filled with many chocolates, sugar comas, and of course fantastic costumes. I know pumpkin is all the rage for Halloween, but I figured a recipe that will help you get rid of all of that candy you’re going to collect tonight would be pretty helpful too. While this could work with a variety of candies, I like how the crumbly texture of the Butterfinger works with the chewy blondie.

-3

I don’t really care about Halloween very much. There. I said it. I don’t understand the allure of spending money on a ridiculous costume you are going to wear once as you walk around freezing outside knocking on strangers’ doors asking for candy, just so you can go home and eat so much that you get sick. Fun? No, not to me. I stopped trick-or-treating when I was in sixth grade, which was the year that I started to take gymnastics seriously, and I wasn’t going to miss practice to go walking around outside.

-1

Just because I don’t like Halloween doesn’t mean I don’t like candy though! Butterfingers are one of my favorites with their chocolate outside and uniquely textured inside, so I grabbed a blondie from Warm Vanilla Sugar and got going. The end result was a chewy, nutty and butterfinger-y treat to help me celebrate Halloween. These are just too simple not to whip up!

Chewy Butterfinger Blondies

Ingredients

  • 2¼ cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¾ cup butter, softened
  • 2¼ cups brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1½ tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 regular-sized butterfinger candy bars, crushed

Directions

  1.  Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a 13×9-inch baking pan. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, with electric mixer at medium speed, combine butter and brown sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla until smooth. Stir in flour mixture and 1 cup of crushed butterfingers.
  3. Spread in prepared pan. Sprinkle remaining crushed butterfinger bars over top of batter.
  4. Bake 30- 35 minutes, or until the bars are a bit firm to the touch. Cool completely before cutting into bars.

Happy Halloween!

2 thoughts on “Chewy Butterfinger Blondies

Leave a Reply

