Pumpkin Biscuits with Candied Ginger

You know the saying where you don’t appreciate what you have until it’s gone? That is exactly what I am going through right now with food blogging. My time to do anything has been zapped away by seemingly endless amounts of rehearsals and practices and I have neglected giving you guys any recipes for the holidays coming up this Thursday (Thanksgiving and Hannukah, of course!). I barely have any time to finish my homework by the time I get home (around 9) on a daily basis, and my free period at school is used to finish homework so I’m not up until all hours of the night.

As someone who avidly follows food blogs, has a mom that’s a chef, and (occasionally) posts on her own blog, you would think that I love Thanksgiving. News flash: I really don’t. There is not much about the holiday that appeals to me: I have to have a long dragged out dinner with food that I don’t really like, and I have to pretend that I like it all while trying not to explode from the amount of food I was forced to take. The only good thing about Thanksgiving as far as I’m concerned is not having school, because everyone likes a day to sleep in.

The only thing about Thanksgiving that I like is the extensive amount of bread and baked goods, mostly because I get to make most of them. The pumpkin in these isn’t overpowering, which is nice because you know that you’ll be eating pumpkin pie later. Instead, it is the sweet and tangy candied ginger that provides a flavor pop in these otherwise mellow biscuits. Enjoy!

-1

Pumpkin Biscuits with Candied Ginger: Adapted from A Farmgirl’s Dabbles

  • 2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 5 T. unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 1/2” pieces
  • 1/3 c. buttermilk
  • 3/4 c. canned pumpkin puree (not pre-spiced pumpkin pie filling)
  • 3 T. honey
  • 2 T. chopped candied ginger

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl. Cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse meal. Chill for 10 minutes in the refrigerator.
  3. Combine buttermilk, pumpkin, and honey in a medium bowl. Whisk until well blended and then add to the chilled flour mixture. Stir just until moist.
  4. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead lightly just a few times. Roll dough into a 1/2” thick 9” x 5” rectangle and dust top of dough with flour. Fold the dough crosswise into thirds, as if folding a piece of paper to fit into an envelope. Roll the dough again into a 1/2” thick 9” x 5” rectangle and dust the top with flour. Fold dough crosswise into thirds again and gently roll or pat to a 3/4” thickness. This process helps to make your biscuits tall, with a layered textured. Using a 2-1/2” biscuit cutter, cut dough into 10 rounds. Place dough rounds 1” apart on your prepared baking sheet. Lightly press some candied ginger into the top of each round. Bake for 14 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack for a couple minutes. Serve warm.

Happy Holidays!

-Rayna :)

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Biscuits with Candied Ginger

  1. Ugh, I know what it’s like to be so insanely busy and not have time to blog. I always feel so bad when I don’t post on my blog regularly – but we can all relate to the craziness of life. I’ve never really liked Thanksgiving all that much, either. It’s usually a pretty quiet and relaxed holiday for us, so I guess that is a plus. And my mom makes the most amazing cheese pie for dessert every year. So that is something that I always look forward to.
    Anyway, these biscuits look delicious! That flavor combination of pumpkin and ginger sounds awesome! Something I would never think to try. I would think that the only way to tolerate candied ginger is to cook/bake with it. My dad recently bought a whole bag of it at the store thinking that it looked like a mellow, sweet kind of snack, but OH MY GOSH is it freaking hot! I was so shocked.
    So yes. I am ranting.
    Fabulous recipe & post!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t love Thanksgiving! And that cheese pie sounds really delicious. Candied ginger is a pretty deceiving name, so I guess he learned his lesson. Thank you so much for visiting!

Leave a Reply

