Baked Pumpkin Spice Donut Holes

Gymnastics is the best sport, to me. How could you not want to flip upside down and twist and turn and tumble? As much as I love gymnastics, it’s by no means an easy sport. My hands are made of steel from all of the rubbing on the uneven bars, and I’ve landed on every body part possible. When I get back from gymnastics, I’m ready to lay down on my bed and be a blob and never move again. But then, I remember these donut holes. I’ve tried making donuts in the past, and they didn’t work (they were more like a muffin that someone put a hole in at the bottom) and I wanted to give donuts a shot again. Sadly, by the time I finished my homework that night at midnight, it was a little too late to start baking, but the next day, the aroma of cinnamon and nutmeg and pumpkin was filling the house before 9:30 at night!

I think we can all agree that donuts make everything better, even if they’re not “real” donuts. But anything coated in butter and cinnamon sugar has to be good, right? Like most people in the food blogger world, the pumpkin craze has taken me over and I bring you these little bites of heaven. They’re made in a mini-muffin pan, and are some of the best cake donuts I’ve had in awhile. 🙂

Baked Pumpkin Spice Donut Holes: From The Craving Chronicles

Makes 30 mini-muffins

Ingredients for the Donuts

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup milk

Ingredients for the Coating

  • 4 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a mini-muffin tin.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and cloves.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the vegetable oil, brown sugar, egg, vanilla extract, pumpkin and milk.
  4. Add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Only mix until just combined, be careful not to over mix!
  5. Divide the batter evenly and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. While they bake, melt the butter and combine the granulated sugar and the cinnamon in a small dish.
  7. Remove the muffins from the pan once cool enough to handle, and then roll them in the melted butter and then coat them with the cinnamon sugar.

Go make some for yourself, I already ate all of mine 😉

-Rayna 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Pumpkin Spice Donut Holes

  1. Katie October 8, 2011 / 10:19 pm

    GEEZ THOSE LOOK GOOD. Just wondering…can you post nutrition facts on there? ‘Cause I’m curious about whether or not there’s a difference between homemade doughnuts and manufactured (I’m not really sure what you call the doughnuts you see in, say, Dunkin’ Donuts) ones.

    • raynatakesthecake October 9, 2011 / 6:16 pm

      There’s a difference in the way it’s made. These are baked, and the ones that are manufactured are fried! These also don’t have any preservatives because they’re homemade. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

