Corniest Corn Muffins

Why hello there again fellow bakers! Sorry for being gone so long. School break (unfortunately) ended and now I’ve been greeted with tons of midterm packets and study guides that need to get done. I had my first gymnastics meet of the season this past weekend at my home gym and got an all-around score of 34.15 for Level 8, while placing second on bars and vault. This is the first meet so I’m really looking forward to bringing my scores up and hopefully reach an all-around score within the 36-37 range. I should have some videos up on YouTube this year of my routines, and I’ll be sure to let you guys know when they’re up. 🙂

I made these delicious muffins over break that I found in Dorie’s Baking Book. My grandma’s birthday was in early December, and along with peanut butter, she loves corn muffins to go with her morning coffee. These have real corn inside of them and are delectable toasted (or warm right out of the oven) with a big smear of butter right on top. I’m drooling just thinking about it!

Corniest Corn Muffins

Makes 12 Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup yellow cornmeal (stone-ground if possible)
  • 6 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg (Optional)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons canola (or corn) oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 cup corn kernels (I used frozen, but you can use fresh or canned. Just make sure that you drain them and pat them dry.)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and line 12 muffin tins.
  2. Whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and nutmeg. In a separate bowl, whisk the buttermilk, butter, oil, egg, and egg yolk. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, being careful not to overmix. Stir in the corn kernels and divide the batter evenly among the muffin tins.
  3. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

I may or may not have eaten the tops off of all some of the muffins. 🙂

-Rayna 🙂

(P.S. Those are the Whole Wheat Honey Muffins you see in the background!)

Leave a Reply

