Soft Gingersnap Cookies

Sorry for being gone for so long! Midterms just wrapped up today, so now I finally have some time to update you on what’s been going on in my kitchen. When my grandmother came over recently, I wanted to bake something for her especially since her birthday was coming up. She doesn’t like chocolate desserts she’s so insane but she loves spiced desserts. I’d rather have a steaming hot serving of apple crisp or a decadent chocolate mint cookie if you ask me, but I bake upon request. 🙂

For a girl who hates ground ginger, these were really good. They were perfectly soft but with a crispy edge, and my grandmother loved them. These were cookies that I’ve had my eye on from Two Peas and Their Pod and I’m glad I was able to make them for someone that I knew would really enjoy them.

Soft Gingersnap Cookies

Makes 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • Pinch of fresh grated nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • White sugar for rolling

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line two baking sheets.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, cream the butter and the brown sugar. When it’s nice and fluffy, add in the eggs and vanilla extract. Add in the molasses.
  4. Slowly add in the flour mixture to the wet ingredients until just combined. Using a tablespoon or eyeballing it, take the dough and roll it into a ball and cover it with the white sugar. Bake for 8-12 minutes (depends on your oven) and enjoy!

I heard rave reviews about these cookies, and I’m sure you will love them (if you like ginger)!

-Rayna 🙂

One thought on “Soft Gingersnap Cookies

Leave a Reply

