Condensed Milk Coconut Pound Cake

School has finally calmed down after midterms, and now that second semester has rolled around, I can actually spend my Sundays doing more than spending copious hours with my biology and U.S. history textbook. This means that my time to bake has gone up considerably, making for a very happy Rayna :). Gymnastics is in full gear now, so it’s not like I actually get to relax, but compared to my usual schedule, I basically have nothing to do!

When my dad’s family was over at our house a couple of weeks ago, my coconut-loving aunt came to visit. While I had made the Soft Gingersnap Cookies for my grandmother, I wanted to make something coconut-y. Well. this pound cake hit the spot. I added in extra coconut to make sure that the coconut flavor came through, and the end result was a moist, dense coconut-y pound cake. Grab a mug of Honey Vanilla Chamomile Tea get me one while you’re at it and go enjoy this pound cake.

Condensed Milk Coconut Pound Cake

Makes one 9×5″ loaf

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk (I used fat free and it turned out great)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups (or the entire bag) sweetened shredded coconut

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and prepare a 9×5″ loaf pan.
  2. Mix together the flour and the baking powder in a medium bowl.
  3. Cream the butter and the sugar, and once creamed, add in the eggs one by one until combined. Add in the vanilla extract. Stir in the dry ingredients until just incorporated. Mix in the coconut.
  4. Bake for 70-80 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Adapted from Fat Girl Trapped in a Skinny Body

So just relax and eat a slice of this pound cake. Enjoy!

-Rayna 🙂

(P.S. Don’t you love my baby piglet spatula?)

2 thoughts on “Condensed Milk Coconut Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

