Buttermilk Pancakes

Right around this time of year is when things start to become super-stressful. The state championships for gymnastics are here in a mere three weeks, conveniently the day after my chamber group performance, while state-mandated standardized testing comes to a close (it’s about time!). On top of all of that, I’m playing in the pit orchestra for the school musical, Into the Woods, everyday this week and weekends for the next 2. Let’s just say that April break can’t come soon enough.

Since my daily life leaves no time free to do what I please, I have to find ways to make time to satisfy my culinary cravings. Meet my Sunday mornings. It starts with me leisurely making my way to the kitchen in my fuzzy pale blue frog-studded robe and mallard duck slippers and plopping myself in front of the television, where Spongebob is playing. After waking up desperately early on Saturdays to get to the city every weekend, I generally want something that’s low-key and easy to make for breakfast on Sunday. So, why, you ask, would I make pancakes when I could just as easily stick some bread in a toaster or make a bowl of cereal? Well…I wanted them.

I didn’t just want any old comes-from-a-box-mix pancake. I wanted to make one myself. Using this recipe from Food Network, I was able to create golden-brown pancakes right from my own kitchen. My weekend mornings just got a whoooole lot better. πŸ™‚

Buttermilk Pancakes

Makes 4-6 Servings

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter, plus more for the pan
  • 1 cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (optional)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda and baking powder.
  2. Whisk together the eggs, melted butter, and the buttermilk. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together until you get a lumpy batter- don’t overmix!
  3. Heat a skillet to medium heat and spoon about 1/3 cup of batter into the pan. Add the blueberries on top. Let each side cook for 2-3 minutes.
  4. Eat!

A basic recipe that’s basically great. πŸ™‚

Rayna πŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Buttermilk Pancakes

Leave a Reply

