Almond Macaroons

Hey there! This week has been quite a relaxing one, which is certainly a nice change of pace from my usual schedule. Even though I still have more than my fair share of schoolwork to do (2 essays, a book and a half to read, a take home test, etc.) this break is still really relaxing for me.

Something that I’ve been SO excited about is Level 8 Regionals, which are now less than 2 weeks away! Although they may be a 5 and a half hour drive from my house, I am still so excited to represent Connecticut as a member of the Senior team. Last night, I drove to another gym in Connecticut about an hour away from my house to have a regional workout, where I got to meet some of the other girls on my regional team (that aren’t on my regular club team). It was such a great experience and I can’t wait to cheer up my teammates on April 28 and 29. Go Connecticut!

Like the Chocolate Chestnut Cake, this recipe is a kosher for passover recipe, but that doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy this any other time of year! If you ran out of flour or want an easy-to-whip-up treat, these macaroons are for you. My soon-to-be-chef mother (who graduates culinary school this weekend!) even approved of these light, almondy, crispy, chewy cookies that you are sure to love. The best part? They’re only 3 ingredients! There’s no excuse now for you not to make these!

Almond Macaroons- Makes about 30 cookies

From the inside of the Almond Paste Box

Ingredients

  • 7 ounces almond paste
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 egg whites

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees and line 2 cookie sheets.
  2. Grate the almond paste (It’s easier if it’s cold) using a cheese grater. Mix together all of the ingredients until fully incorporated.
  3. Bake for 8-12 minutes, or until golden brown on the bottom. Let cool and enjoy!

Delicious cookies that are simple to make? Count me in!

-Rayna 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Almond Macaroons

  1. Katie April 19, 2012 / 4:10 pm

    They look very pretty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

