Apple Pie Muffins

I am not excited for this coming week. After being on school break for a week, I am not exactly excited to wake up bright and early for school on Monday morning. It already felt as if I was bombarded with work this entire break! But now that school is less than 2 days away, I won’t really be able to post regularly until after most of the major testing (AP tests, music school final, etc.) is over, but I’ll try my very best to keep you guys updated on what’s happening over in my kitchen.

Although I may talk about how excited I am for gymnastics regionals and the gigantic volume of schoolwork that I have, something I don’t talk about as much is music. I started playing violin when I was just 3 years old, and 12 years later, I’m still at it. While most other kids get to sleep in on Saturday mornings, I’m frequently in Manhattan by 7:30 in the morning, my viola strapped to my back while I lug around an enormous bag filled with all of my music. Aside from my weekly lesson, I’m also involved in the orchestra (as principal violist), a piano quintet, and I take classes in ear training and music history. I’ll try to keep you guys posted on what’s happening in the music world!

Now to these muffins. Let’s start out with the fact that I love apples. I could seriously eat around 3-4 apples a day. Granny Smith, Gala, Honeycrisp, Pink Lady, apples are just an amazing fruit (as long as they’re not the mushy type!). However, I can be picky when it comes to what apples I eat, and as soon as they show a hint of being not a perfectly crisp apple, my desire to just bite right into it just disappears. So, instead of throwing away tons of apples, I just bake with them! These apple pie muffins don’t exactly taste like the real thing, but are a great way to start off your morning and might even make Monday mornings slightly more tolerable. 🙂

Apple Pie Muffins- From My Baking Addiction

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients- For the Muffins

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar (decrease to 1 cup if don’t like too too sweet)
  • 2 cups peeled, chopped, granny smith apples (or your favorite type!)
  • Turbinado sugar, for garnish

For the Topping

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line 12 muffin tins.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, pumpkin pie spice, and baking soda. In a large bowl, mix together the buttermilk, melted butter, vanilla extract and brown sugar. Mix until all the sugar has dissolved. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until just combined. Add in the apples. Sprinkle on the turbinado sugar and the topping.
  3. Prepare the topping: mix together all of the ingredients until a crumbly topping is formed.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean and the top springs back up.
  5. Enjoy!

Summer fruits here I come! 🙂

-Rayna 🙂

 

One thought on “Apple Pie Muffins

Leave a Reply

