Zebra Cake

These past few weeks have been surprisingly relaxing, and the much lowered levels of stress were certainly needed. On May 11 and May 14, I had the pleasure of sitting in my school’s library for over 3 hours each, and taking a test that I’ve been preparing for all year. Those seem like forever ago, and now finals for my regular classes are approaching on me fast. Good thing there’s only 4 academic finals left to take!

Last Saturday, May 19, was my last day at Manhattan School of Music for awhile now. I took my jury, which is equivalent to my final, as well as the audition to try to get into the higher level orchestra. I met with the accompanist at 9:30 on Saturday morning, and at 10:20, I stepped inside Room 215 where my teacher and 2 other jurors sat for the day. I played the Telemann viola concerto, and if you haven’t listened to this gorgeous staple of viola repertoire, I recommend it highly.  Along with the Telemann, I played a movement of solo Bach (the Gigue from his first Partita for cello). Let me tell you, it was nice to finally be able to “show off” what I’ve been working for this whole year, and I can only hope that my next few juries will go as smoothly as this one did.

In the baking world, I made this cake for my dad’s birthday…before I found out that we had a Fudgy the Whale Cake in addition to this zebra cake from Annie’s Eats. Let me tell you, there aren’t many things that are better than cake, but cake with melted, fudgy, chocolate and vanilla ice cream cake truly takes the cake. If you haven’t tried two of the best things on earth together yet…well I’m sorry. So you should make this cake. And put ice cream on it. Now. 🙂

Zebra Cake

Makes 1 9 inch Cake

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon almond extract (optional)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9 inch cake pan.
  2. Mix together the flour and baking powder in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, milk, vegetable oil, vanilla extract, and almond extract. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients until just incorporated.
  3. Once the batter is made, take half of the vanilla batter and pour it into a separate bowl. Add the cocoa powder and mix.
  4. To assemble the cake: Start with 3 tablespoons of the vanilla batter and put it in the center of the pan. Pour 3 tablespoons of the chocolate batter in the middle of the vanilla batter, and continue until all of the batter is used up.
  5. Once assembled, bake for 38-42 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Talk about an impressive Memorial Day cake. 🙂

-Rayna 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

