Brown Butter Toffee Blondies

GUESS WHO’S DONE WITH SCHOOL?!?! That’s right, my last day of my second year of high school was this past Friday, and boy, did it feel good. I’ve surely put in my fair share of late nights and hours upon hours of studying, and having the weight of finals lifted off of my shoulders feels absolutely fantastic. My school-free schedule leaves room for plenty of baking this summer, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to post and make recipes more frequently, so I can share them with you guys!

After all of the stress of finals was done, I attended my yearly gymnastics banquet, where all of the girls, coaches, and parents celebrate the awards and accomplishments that our team has done this year. It’s always a lot of fun, and last night was no different. It’s always fun seeing all of my gymnastics friends in dresses and high heels, instead of our usual leotards and velvet shorts. In honor of the graduating senior, who got a FULL gymnastics scholarship to the University of New Hampshire, I made adorable sugar cookies with the Wildcat blue paw-print on them, and I can’t wait to share the recipe with you.

These blondies will change your life. I’m not exaggerating. At all. Deanna was at my house, and as soon as I saw these in Martha Stewart’s Cookie book, I knew that these would be a hit for sure. I can’t even describe how good these were, especially warm right out of the oven. The brown butter gives a nutty, warm quality that just made the dessert so decadent, and the bits of toffee just added a bite of heath-y, caramel-y goodness. Not to mention, they have the most gorgeous golden brown color. Do yourself and your dad a favor, and make these for Father’s day. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Brown Butter Toffee Blondies

Makes One 13×9 pan

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons abking powder
  • 2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 1 cup toffee bits

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare a 9×13 baking pan.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, cook the butter until it turns golden brown; remove from heat, and let cool. Whisk together flour and baking powder.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine browned butter and both sugar, and stir with a wooden spoon until combined. Attach the bowl to the mixer and add the eggs. Using the paddle attachment, beat on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the vanilla and beat to combine. Add the flour mixture, walnuts and toffee bits. Mix until just combined, and pour into the prepared pan.
  4. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

Happy Father’s Day!

-Rayna 🙂

2 thoughts on “Brown Butter Toffee Blondies

Leave a Reply

