Flourless Chocolate Almond Butter Cookies

I hope all of you had a great July 4th! I spent mine surrounded by family and friends, and of course enjoying some fantastic food. My mother whipped up a delicious panzanella salad with a loaf of crusty 3 grain bread and my dad grilled some chicken patties while we all just relaxed, swam, and had an all together good time. How do you not love summer?

This past week has been surprisingly empty for me. Due to the music camp that I was at last week, I missed the first week of summer training for gymnastics, and the week of July 4th is the week we always have off. As much as I’m not used to sitting around the house, there is a lot to be done. No, I’m not talking about my summer homework, but stuff that I didn’t remember existed that I had sitting on the back of my to-do list for a very very long time. Such as cleaning my desk. Not fun.

The main upside to all of this free time is time to be able to bake and post! Although I didn’t make these cookies for the 4th of July gathering, they are certainly not a cookie to pass up. The reason that I decided to make a flour-less recipe when Passover was many months ago was for the boyfriend of one of my closest friends, who eats a gluten free diet. I’m not too keen on the exact flours that are and are not gluten free, so I just decided to avoid the problem in it’s entirety and make these delectable goodies. 🙂

Although I don’t bake with it too much, I adore almond butter. Plain, maple, honey, roasted…I’m drooling just thinking about it. While I generally spread it on a slice of whole grain bread or straight out of the jar, I am always up for trying a new recipe with it. When I saw these cookies on Keep It Sweet, I knew they would be exactly right. They were very dense, but with a rich, deep, chocolate-almond-butter-y flavor. Yum!

Flourless Chocolate Almond Butter Cookies

Makes 8 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup chocolate almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg white, whisked
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix together almond butter, brown sugar, whisked egg white, baking soda, vanilla extract and salt
  3. Stir in chocolate chips
  4. Use a cookie dough scoop or tablespoon to shape 8 cookies on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper
  5. Bake for ~12 min or until tops of cookies are no longer loose

What’s not to love? 🙂

-Rayna 🙂

(P.S. The lighter ones are made with regular almond butter)

Leave a Reply

