Funfetti Cookie Sandwiches

So far this weekend has turned out to be super fun and relaxing. Who could have thought? I ate lunch with my grandma because my sister is leaving for two weeks to go to a sleep-away camp, then I got to come home and relax outside while reading my book about the discovery of the double helix. Yes, I know I’m a nerd. πŸ™‚ Finally, my parents, my sister, my aunt and I went out to dinner at the restaurant of my sister’s choosing to make sure that she enjoyed her last meal at home before going away. I didn’t get a chance to bake her any cookies, but how can you resist a perfectly clear, sunny sky on a Saturday afternoon? I know that I can’t!

Gymnastics has really kicked into gear this week! We started our summer workout schedule, which involves me being there at 8:30 A.M. 4 days a week. Although sometimes it can take a lot out of me to get out of bed in the morning, I always get used to it by the time I’m sitting in a split at 8:45 :p. Our practices are 5 hours long, but we take a break around the 2.5 hour mark to make sure that we get a little bit of fuel back in our bodies and to get a chance to cool off, because our gym doesn’t have air conditioning. I’ve been doing some pretty cool things, such as double-backs (when you punch of the ground and do two back somersaults in the air before landing) into a foam pit by myself! Gymnastics never gets boring! πŸ™‚

Nowww onto these cookie sandwiches. These were an interesting batch of cookies to make, because my past experience with cookie sandwiches had been less than stellar. I had invited a friend over to my house to spend the night and we wanted to make red velvet whoopie pies, but the only red food coloring that we had in the house was natural. That isn’t a problem, except that you needed more than triple the amount the recipe called for just to make the batter slightly pinkish. Not. Fun. However, these color-dotted goodies are all you need for a relaxing summer get together or just for a nice after dinner treat. I got the recipe off of Gingerbread Bagels, which just happens to be the website that got me into all of this food-blogging stuff. πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

Funfetti Cookie Sandwiches

Makes 18 Sandwiches

Ingredients- For the Cookies

  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 and 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup rainbow sprinkles

For the Vanilla Buttercream

  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 ounces heavy whipping cream
  • gel food coloring (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Sift together the flour, baking powder.
  2. In a bowl of a stand mixer, mix together the butter and sugar on medium speed for 4 minutes until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract. Add in the eggs, one at a time on low speed. Slowly add in the dry ingredients on low speed until almost combined. Add in the rainbow sprinkles and fold them in with a spatula.Put the cookie dough in a bowl and cover it with plastic wrap. Refrigerate the cookie dough for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Using a tablespoon measurement, form the dough into a ball and slightly press down with your hand. Bake the cookies at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.
  4. For the Buttercream: Beat the butter and the vanilla extract together until smooth.On low speed, add in the powdered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time.The powdered sugar will look like it’s not combining but it will. Increase the speed to medium high and mix for a couple of minutes. On low speed, slowly add in the heavy whipping cream. The mixture will look lumpy at first. Increase the speed to high and mix until smooth, 10-15 minutes. If you like, add in gel food coloring and mix on low speed.

There you go, an adorable, colorful, delicious cookie sandwich. πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

-Rayna πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

