Vanilla Bean Pound Cake

I hope everyone is having a good week so far, and staying out of this ridiculously hot and humid weather we are having. This weather makes for not the most pleasant time at gymnastics, but hey, you gotta do what you gotta do. Today we worked a lot on beam dismounts, which is probably my favorite thing about beam. These past 2 years I’ve competed a cartwheel-back tuck dismount off of the beam, but now that I’m working towards being a level 9, I clearly have to upgrade. So today I did a back tuck with a full twist, which was awesome! That is a weak level 9 dismount, but a level 9 dismount all the same. I’ve been working round-offs too, so hopefully I’ll be able to connect the two.

Music-wise, nothing new has been happening around here. My teacher is gone for the summer, although I will be taking lessons with a good family friend of ours. The last lesson I had with my teacher before she left to visit her family was spent fingering the music, but even spending a full hour on the music wasn’t long enough, because I still wasn’t able to get the second and third movements of the Handel viola concerto fingered. Since I’m at home training for gymnastics all summer, it’s really important for me to get ahead because during the school year the time that I have available to practice is very little.

However, this is a post about a vanilla bean pound cake from Smitten Kitchen. I’ve made other pound cakes before, but I thought that I should go back to the basics and make a plain, simple, vanilla bean pound cake. I actually ended up making these into mini-muffins because I wanted them to bake quickly, and they turned out simply adorable. I can tell you that every person in my US History class loved them, and were eating them handfuls at a time. I’ll take that as a compliment! 🙂

Vanilla Bean Pound Cake

Makes 2 9×5 Loafs, or 1 10′ bundt.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound vanilla sugar (recipe link here)
  • 1 pound (4 sticks) butter, at room temperature
  • 1 pound (9 large) eggs
  • 1 pound (4 cups) all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and prepare the baking dish of your choosing.
  2. In a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until smooth. Add in the eggs one by one until fully incorporated. Add in the vanilla extract. Add in the flour until just combined. You don’t want rubber cakes!
  3. Bake for and hour and 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. Enjoy!

So simple, so delicious. What’s not to love?

-Rayna 🙂

(I forgot to take picture of this one, sorry!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

