Brown Sugar Walnut Pound Cake

Hello again! As I’m writing this, I’m watching the most exciting sporting event of the year, the Olympics. Clearly I’m most excited about the gymnastics part, but I like watching the other sports too. 🙂 I’m planning this week around the times of the team and all-around finals, and even at the gym we’re stopping practice early on Tuesday so we could watch the team finals live! You could say my coach/gym/everyone is super excited.

This delicious pound cake from Martha Stewart has an interesting story behind it. During the end of the year in my English class, my teacher would have 3-4 students present a poem each week. However, she made it clear that she didn’t want every single student just walking up to the front of the room and reading the poem out loud- she wanted something interesting. Since my poem was titled The Black Walnut Tree, it was only appropriate that I bake a cake with walnuts in it. And let me tell you, this cake was fantastic. It was super moist and the candied walnuts added a nice crunch and a touch of sweetness. My English class loved it, and I think you will too!

Brown Sugar Walnut Pound Cake

Makes 2 9×5″ Cakes

Ingredients

  • 1 pound (3 1/4 cups) all purpose flour
  • 4 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 cups packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 9 large eggs
  • 2 cups candied walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrres and prepare 2 loaf pans.
  2. In an electric mixer, cream together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes. Add in the eggs one by one until combined. Add in the vanilla extract. Slowly add in the flour until just combined. Fold in the candied walnuts.
  3. Divide the batter into the prepared baking dishes and bake for 65 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out cleanly.

So simple, so delicious.

-Rayna 🙂

(I was experimenting with different angles in these pictures- what do you think?)

Leave a Reply

