Sugar Cookies

Hi again! Sorry for the long break, these past two weeks I have been working my butt off at chamber music camp, which runs for 7 hours per day. So as you can imagine, I’m slightly exhausted when I get home and all I really want to do is sprawl out on the couch and watch some television. My final concert is tomorrow afternoon and then I only have one more week left of summer! I can’t believe how quickly it went by, and I’m (almost) prepared for school to start up again. I better enjoy the time that I have left!

You might be wondering why I made such a simple recipe for my blog. After all, I’m the one who stuck brown butter in blondies and bacon in scones, so there would be no reason for me to just make a plain sugar cookie. The problem was that no matter how much I love getting super creative and putting atypical ingredients into standard baked goods, not all of my eaters appreciate that. I aim to please, so I made a standard sugar cookie. This tasty cookie from King Arthur’s Flour is amazing. It has just the right amount of chewiness and are reminiscent of the giant ones you find in a bakery. Go make yourself a batch to brighten up your weekday desserts. 🙂

Sugar Cookies

Makes 8.5 dozen cookies (2″)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 6 ounces powdered sugar (confectioners sugar)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract (optional)
  • 10.5 ounces unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar (optional)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line 2 baking pans.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and the sugar until fluffy. Beat the egg until smooth then add in the vanilla and almond extracts. In a separate bowl whisk together the dry ingredients and add to the butter mixture until the dough is smooth. Refrigerate 2-3 hours or overnight.
  3. Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and roll until 1/4 inch thick. Cut out the shapes with whatever shape you would like and transfer them to the baking sheets.
  4. Bake for 8 minutes or until they are slightly colored around the edges. Let them cool on the tray for 2 minutes and then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

What a great way to end the summer. 🙂

-Rayna

(I tried taking the pictures from different angles, what do you think?)

 

 

Leave a Reply

