Strawberry Muffins

With the last weekend of summer closer than I would like it to be, I needed to give you guys a great recipe that uses up some of those delicious summer berries that I have been eating in every conceivable way this summer. Whether it be in cakes or cookies or just straight out of the container, I love summer berries and strawberries are no exception. While it can be a challenge to even get my hands on the strawberries in our house, I managed to grab a crate of locally grown strawberries that were just a day or 2 past their prime, which made these muffins even more delicious.

When I first saw this recipe on Taste of Home, I was a little bit suspicious. I’ve had my fair share of recipes with fruit in them that have left me with a wet soggy muffin mess that is just nasty. But with the locally grown strawberries begging to be used, I thought that I would give this one a shot. And boy, am I happy I did that! These were perfectly moist without being soggy in the least bit. They work with any fruit you have and are sure to brighten up your early school mornings!

Strawberry Muffins
Makes 12 Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup fat-free plain yogurt (vanilla yogurt works well)
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/4 cups coarsely chopped fresh or frozen unsweetened strawberries

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and prepare 12 muffin tins. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and nutmeg. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, yogurt, butter and vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients in 3 additions until just combined. Fold in the strawberries.
  2. Scoop the batter into each muffin tin, making sure each one is even. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out cleanly. Let cool for 5 minutes then dig in!

Such a simple way to make your mornings that much better!

-Rayna 🙂

Leave a Reply

