Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hey there! I hope everyone’s weekend is going well. Yesterday, I had my seating auditions for orchestra. The way that seating auditions work is you are assigned a few excerpts to play from the pieces that we are doing and during orchestra rehearsal, you leave and go to a room where you do a blind audition. There is a black curtain between you and the judges so they don’t know how old you are, if you’re a boy or a girl, or anything else. All they care about is how well you play. Although it’s a very fair system, I sure was nervous! Results come out next week, so wish me luck!

I know I know, these don’t seem like the type of cookie recipe that I would post on here. They’re too typical for me. I like cookies that grab my attention, whether it be they have almond flour, stuffed with other cookies, or have unusual ingredients stuck in them. Chocolate chip cookies don’t do that. However, whenever someone finds out that I bake, the question I most frequently get asked is “Can you make me chocolate chip cookies?” So I finally gave in and made some plain chocolate chip cookies from Martha Stewart. I know everyone has their preferences for how they like them- chewy, soft, crisp, etc., but these are crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, which is my ideal combination. A great cookie to make your weekend even better!

Chocolate Chip Cookies- Makes 3 Dozen Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups (about 12 ounces) semisweet and/or milk chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the butter with both sugars; beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the vanilla and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  2. Drop heaping tablespoon-size balls of dough about 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  3. Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the center, 8 to 10 minutes. Remove from oven, and let cool on baking sheet 1 to 2 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack, and let cool completely. Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature up to 1 week.

Just a great chocolate chip cookie. What’s not to love?

-Rayna 🙂
(P.S. I love the way these pictures turned out. Opinions? Thoughts?)
One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Katie September 30, 2012 / 4:42 pm

    Oh, pretty cookie. 😀 Looks yummy, too.

Leave a Reply

