A Quick Update

Happy almost Thanksgiving everyone! It’s been quite a few hectic weeks over here on the east coast, between Hurricane Sandy and concerts and school and everything else you could possibly think of. Thankfully, we all turned out okay from the storm and nothing of ours was flooded or toppled upon by a tree. We didn’t have power for 10 days and we were without cable for another few, but now everything is thankfully back in order.

I also had my first MSM concert of the season! This was an especially heart-warming concert due to some of the troubles that the orchestra and my conductor had during the process, and it was just amazing to play and see how much both he and the audience enjoyed it. It was my first concert being a part of the new orchestra and I’m happy to say that it was simply amazing. I remember listening to this orchestra while my brother was in it and thinking how incredible it would be to actually be a part of that orchestra. We played works by Bizet, Handel, Strauss and Mendelssohn. Needless to say, it was breath-taking.

But now to the food! Even though we had a week off from school because of the storm, I was not able to bake because of the lack of ovens and refrigeration (Somewhat warm eggs? No thanks.). Halloween feel directly in the middle of October Break, so I wasn’t even able to whip up a cute cookie or terrifying treat for you guys. Thankfully, we were still able to make it to CVS to pick up some candy! πŸ˜‰ With Thanksgiving right around the corner though, I’ve been doing my research to find the best recipes possible to make for this weekend. I’m busy seeing my family from all over the northeast, so I better come prepared with desserts! Here’s what I’m planning to make.

Cranberry White Chocolate Scones from Steph’s Bite by Bite

Cranberry Maple Pecan Breakfast Cake from Kitchen Catharsis

Autumn Delight Cake from Sweetapolita

Maple Cheesecake with Roasted Pears from Martha Stewart

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Dulce de Leche from Martha Stewart

Nutmeg Maple Cream Pie from Smitten Kitchen

Doesn’t that sound like an all-star lineup? I can’t wait to make eat all of this! πŸ™‚

What are your plans for the holidays?

-Rayna πŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

