Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Dulce de Leche

Happy Thursday everyone! These past few weeks have been filled to the brim with school, gymnastics, and music, but I’m glad I can finally share another recipe with you!

I have to confess, I have not been doing too much baking lately, but I was able to whip up this delicious recipe for Thanksgiving. I had compiled a whole list of things I wanted to make, but instead of spending my day slaving away in the kitchen for dessert (the best course, but not too good for you I’m afraid), I ended up just spending some time sleeping and hanging out with my family. It was great, but now I have the holiday season ahead of me to look forward too!

Pumpkin is one of my favorite things to bake with because of it’s versatility. I’ve made things ranging from buttercream to granola to whoopie pies with this wonderful fall ingredient, but now I got to experience another way that pumpkin could be used in a delicious and moist bread pudding. My dulce de leche wasn’t too pretty so it’s not in the picture, but it truly brings the entire dish together with it’s creamy, caramel like qualities. I hope to be back soon!

DSC_7638

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Dulce de Leche- from Martha Stewart

Ingredients

  • 1 can (15 ounces) pure pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (optional)
  • 10 ounces day old bread (I would use an egg-based bread, such as a brioche or challah)
  • 1/2 cup pecans, roughly chopped (optional)
  • 1 recipe dulce de leche 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a 2-quart baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, milk, cream, eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Arrange bread in dish. Pour custard over bread and top with pecans. Bake until custard is set, 45 minutes. Let cool slightly. Serve warm or at room temperature, drizzled with dulce de leche.

And the holiday baking begins!

-Rayna 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

