Apple Allspice Crumb Muffins

Happy New Year everyone! I just realized that this is my first post of 2013, even though it’s almost February! Life really started to pick up the pace, with midterms and new semesters and preparation for lots of concerts, it’s been a busy few weeks. Not to mention, that I unfortunately was a victim of this year’s flu epidemic, so I spent quite a nice amount of time with a bottle of Tylenol and a box of tissues by my side, barely willing to get up out of a chair, and much less make delicious baked goods. Thankfully, I’m all better now and able to return to everything as usual, but I’m very happy that I conquered the sickness!

I’ve made tons of muffins for RTTC, and it’s because they’re one of my favorite ways to make breakfast better, especially on a school morning. It’s so much nicer to wake up on a cold, snowy, Monday morning (not that I ever like doing that) to a plateful of homemade muffins than it is to have to grab a bar from the cabinet on my way out the door. I made a few adjustments to the recipe that really make it stand out among the others. My favorite adjustment was to the crumb topping. I had used up all of the butter making the muffins, and I obviously couldn’t leave out the crumb topping to I used roasted almond oil! I know it’s not an ingredient that’s found in most kitchens, but as you probably know by know, our kitchen is far from normal. Did I mention that I found it next to a bottle that did not have a single word of English on it? What can I say, that’s how we roll. Back to the oil, it gave the crumb a wonderful, warm, nutty flavor, and especially with the apples and the cinnamon and nutmeg in the muffin, it was just delightful. I would use butter if you don’t have this in your kitchen, because using a plain flavored oil, such as canola or vegetable, won’t give it much of a flavor. But try new things! Don’t be afraid to branch outside what a recipe is saying, you never know what you might get!

Apple Allspice Crumb Muffins- Adapted from In Jennie’s Kitchen

Ingredients

For Crumb Topping:

  • 2 tablespoons roasted almond oil
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour

For Muffins:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ground
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • Pinch of cloves, optional
  • 8 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups peeled, shredded apples

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375º.  Grease or line a 12 cup muffin tin with liners.  For the topping, mix all ingredients in small bowl with a fork  until combined; set aside.
  2. For the muffins, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and all spice in a medium-size bowl; set aside. In a medium-sized bowl, cream butter and sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about three minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each one.
  3. Beat in one third of the dry ingredients, then add one-third of the sour cream. Alternating between dry ingredients and sour cream, repeat until all ingredients have been incorporated.  Using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, stir in the diced apples.
  4. Evenly divide batter into the muffin-tin cups.  Sprinkle tops evenly with the crumb topping.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown and toothpick inserted comes out clean.

What a wonderful morning pleasure. I’m happy just thinking about it!

-Rayna 🙂

One thought on “Apple Allspice Crumb Muffins

Leave a Reply

