Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Good morning everyone! I hope you all had a nice day off for presidents day that was filled with lots of delicious food. I spent my weekend out in the Show-Me State, or St. Louis, Missouri for a gymnastics meet. Even though I was only gone for a few days, it was an awesome trip. I got to spend lots of time with my teammates and it was just an awesome bonding experience.

While we had a few days off due to Nemo, I used my time wisely. That is, I baked lots and lots of loaves of bread. I already explained to you my fear of yeast and how I stood up to it a few days ago, but before I get to more yeast breads I have to tell you about this banana bread.

You know you’ve made a good bread when you have 5+ loaves and baked goods in the house and this is the only one that got completely eaten in less than 2 days. Yeah, it’s that good. What makes this banana bread different is the layer of cinnamon sugar between the 2 layers of sweet banana goodness, and when baked, it turned into a caramel-y counterpart that completed this wonderfully moist bread.

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread- from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 2  tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 and 1/2 cups mashed very ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
  • 1/3 cup vanilla greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (or vanilla bean paste)

Filling

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray. Set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.  In a separate large bowl, beat the brown sugar and butter with a stand or handheld mixer on medium speed until well blended – about 1 minute. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. With a wooden spoon, stir in the mashed banana, yogurt, and vanilla.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients. Do NOT overmix.  Batter will be thick.
  3. Spoon half of the batter into prepared loaf pan.  Sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar swirl ingredients.  Top with remaining batter. Bake for 40-45  minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 15 minutes in the pan on a wire rack. Remove from pan and cool completely on the wire rack.
One thought on “Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

  1. Sally February 19, 2013 / 1:57 pm

    So glad you made it! I love how moist it is too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

