Blueberry Pancakes

Well hello there again! These past few weeks have been so busy with music programs that not only did I not even have time to make anything, but no time to post either! I hope you haven’t missed me too much :). I just finished up the Summer Strings program at NYU, which was fun. Living in the city for 3 weeks was certainly an awesome experience, although I’m glad to be home and able to relax for a few days before the rest of my summer begins.

DSC_0025The last thing that I’m sure anyone wanted to do these past few days was turn on their oven. It was hot enough outside that any additional heat would have been just unbearable, which is why I’m giving you a recipe that does not require you use it! Besides, pancakes in an oven would be just strange. I’ve made some pancakes in the past, but that was a long time ago, so it was time for a new recipe on RTTC.

DSC_0031I haven’t had a big breakfast in quite awhile. During the school year, I am typically rushing out the door with my mug of tea and a bar in my hand, and during the summer, especially since gymnastics starts at 8:30, I’m eating some toast with peanut butter, yogurt with granola, and not so much sit-down breakfasts, which is really a shame. So, I’m making it my goal this summer to start making myself some actual breakfasts, because there is only so much granola I can eat, and with pancakes this pretty, I can’t resist!

DSC_0042Mmmmmmm, pancakes.

 

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes- From Fine Cooking

Ingredients

  • 3 Tbs. unsalted butter; more for serving
  • 9 oz. (2 cups) unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2-1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • Vegetable oil for the pan
  • Pure maple syrup for serving
  • Blueberries

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a medium bowl, whisk the buttermilk, vanilla and eggs. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Whisk gently until the dry ingredients are almost incorporated; stop before the batter is evenly moistened. Add the cooled melted butter and mix just until the batter is evenly moistened (there will be lumps). Let the batter rest while you heat the griddle.
  2. Heat a griddle or a large skillet over medium heat (or set an electric griddle to 375°F) until drops of water briefly dance on the surface before evaporating. Lightly oil the griddle. Working in batches, pour 1/4 cup of the batter onto the griddle for each pancake, spacing them about 1 inch apart. Let cook undisturbed until bubbles rise to the surface and the edges look dry, 1 to 2 minutes. Sprinkle the blueberries evenly across the pancake. Check the underside of each pancake to make sure it’s nicely browned; then flip. Cook until the second side is nicely browned, about 1 minute more.
  3. Serve hot with butter and maple syrup.

An easy, delicious way to brighten any summer morning!

-Rayna 🙂

 

 

13 thoughts on “Blueberry Pancakes

  1. Monique Bartley July 22, 2013 / 4:50 pm

    I think that Sundays were specifically made for blueberry pancakes. Looks super delish!

  2. marcie@flavorthemoments July 22, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    Blueberry pancakes are my absolute favorite. There’s just something about them that I’ve always loved over and above any other flavor. Your look so fluffy and delicious!

  3. Pamela @ Brooklyn Farm Girl July 22, 2013 / 6:04 pm

    I love blueberry pancakes, my mom would make them for breakfast and dinner so much as a kid so they hold good memories. Yours look great, I’m craving them now!

  4. Ashley @ Wishes and Dishes July 22, 2013 / 10:25 pm

    It’s been soooo hot here lately and haven’t turned on the oven, either (I’m in Rochester, NY)! These pancakes look awesome!

  5. C Fanning (@PickFreshFoods) July 23, 2013 / 12:13 am

    Blueberry Pancakes are my all time favorite! They are perfect for when you want to enjoy a nice relaxing breakfast. I feel pretty lucky if I can make these during the week.

  6. Tina @ Tina's Chic Corner July 23, 2013 / 3:03 pm

    Pancakes plus blueberries is a winner in my book. I’ve been known to make pancakes for dinner because it’s quick, easy and of course delicious. 🙂

  7. Warm Vanilla Sugar July 23, 2013 / 3:49 pm

    Blueberry pancakes are my boys favorite! And they’re all over the farmers markets now…love!

  8. The Twilight Chef July 23, 2013 / 4:15 pm

    Buttermilk pancakes are an absolute favourite of mine, I have never tried them with blueberries though so looking forward to giving this a go. Thanks!

  9. Courtney July 23, 2013 / 5:33 pm

    Yummm these look scrumptious! 🙂

  10. eastofedencook July 23, 2013 / 7:14 pm

    My husband is very fond of blueberries! These scrumptious pancakes would be a marvelous way to begin the weekend!

  11. john@kitchenriffs July 24, 2013 / 7:44 pm

    I love blueberries, and using them in pancakes is always a great way to eat them! I haven’t made pancakes for ages – but you’ve just reminded me I need to again before all the fresh blueberries disappear! Good stuff – thanks.

  12. Kumar's Kitchen July 25, 2013 / 11:43 pm

    pancakes look gorgeous with all those berries dotting it, brilliant 🙂

Leave a Reply

