Spelt Pancakes

Hi again! I hope someone is still reading this, seeing that I’ve been gone for over a month! I apologize for my absence, I’ve been flying and driving all over the country going to college auditions these past few weeks, and in the last week alone I was in 6 different states, just so I could attend a 10 minute audition with an occasional theory placement test.

Obviously, most of my time these days is devoted to traveling and practicing for seemingly endless auditions and concerts, but one concert that I’m especially excited for is coming up tomorrow night. When I play chamber music, I typically play in either a string quartet or the occasional piano quintet, but tomorrow, my quartet coach invited my quartet to play the incredible String Octet by Felix Mendelssohn tomorrow night. It’s a piece that you’ll find at most sight-reading events, but since it’s not only challenging to get 8 players together for rehearsals but quite difficult music as well, I’m treasuring the fact that I am able to play this magnificent work at only 17.

On a completely different note (music puns…) these pancakes were fantastic. Despite the fact that I run a blog devoted to carbs and sugar, I try to eat on the healthier side, and these pancakes accomplish just that. The spelt flour may be tricky to find, but I promise, it tastes so much better than just using regular whole wheat or all purpose. If you’re looking for a way to keep up the Sunday morning pancake tradition without rolling out of the kitchen, or just want an awesome pancake recipe, these are for you!

-1

 

Spelt Pancakes: From King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (7 ounces) whole spelt flour
  • 2 tablespoons (7/8 ounce) sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 3/4 cups (14 ounces) milk
  • 2 tablespoons (1 ounce) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the spelt flour, sugar and baking powder. Combine the milk and melted butter, and the vanilla if you’re using it.
  2. Form a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Stir the batter just until the dry ingredients are thoroughly moistened: it will seem very wet, but will thicken as it sits. Let the batter sit for 15 minutes before you use it.
  3. Heat a non-stick griddle if you have one, or a heavy skillet, preferably cast iron. If your surface is not non-stick, brush it lightly with vegetable oil.
  4. When the surface of your pan is hot enough that a drop of water sputters across the surface, give the pan a quick swipe with a paper towel to eliminate excess oil, and spoon the batter onto the hot surface, 1/4-cupful at a time.
  5. Let the pancakes cook on the first side until bubbles begin to form around the edges of the cakes, about 2 to 3 minutes. You may need to adjust your heat up or down to get the pancakes to cook through without scorching the surface, or being too pale.
  6. When the cakes are just beginning to set, flip them and let them finish cooking on the second side, about 1 minute more, until they’re golden brown on both sides.

I promise more recipes will be coming soon!

-Rayna

Leave a Reply

