A Long Overdue Update

Well hellllllo there again! This has been a ridiculously long hiatus and I think it’s about time that I get into the swing of things again. Clearly, a plethora of things have occurred in the past year or so, so I’ll try to give you guys a quick rundown of what I’ve been up to. So to start things off, I am going to be an incoming sophomore (?!?!?) at Northwestern this year, which seems pretty crazy to me. I feel like it was just yesterday I was blogging about MSM Saturdays and gymnastics meets. I’m currently a duel-degree student majoring in anthropology and viola performance, which is pretty neat. It’s a five-year deal, so I can really squeeze out everything Northwestern has for me. I’m flying out tomorrow, and classes start again on Monday. Bring it on!!

204C820F-C1A1-4042-B4FA-39F8133666EC

That’s me and my stand partner/friend/roomie/violist Hannah last winter in front of Northwestern’s beautiful new music building that I’ll be practicing in this year. I get the best of both worlds because while we are sharing a suite, we each get our own rooms.

402D35AA-6A1D-48E7-8544-D9FF4F4AE6F8

One of the highlights of this past year at school was being able to travel to Tighza, Morocco, with Hillel at Northwestern. We went during my spring break, and it was a really great experience. It was technically a service trip, but between the travel time getting there (about 11 hours each way), the 6 hour time difference, and the bizarre weather, (notice the snow?? They told us it was going to be in the mid 60s) we didn’t do a lot of community service. However, I met some wonderful people on the trip, and it was certainly unforgettable.

SubstandardFullSizeRender

Now onto the fun stuff- how I’ve been spending my summers. Last summer, I went to Ottawa for the NAC-SMI program and the Castleman Quartet Program in Fredonia, New York. It was my second time in Ottawa, and it was just as fun as the first year. QP was quite a different experience, but the emphasis on chamber music was really wonderful, as it’s my favorite type of music to play. This summer, I was fortunate enough to spend 8 weeks in stunning Aspen, Colorado, for the Aspen Music Festival and School. The picture here is the pathway to the dorms, so clearly, I was not spoiled at all. I had truly an incredible time, meeting people from all over the country that are so so so talented. I was in the orchestra program there, and got to play some fantastic repertoire. I’ve been home for about 2 weeks since Aspen, but I still dream of the pure air and impeccable (not humid) weather.

SubstandardFullSizeRender-1

That’s about it!! Here’s me and my mom at a Yankee game last week, enjoying every last moment of sunshine before I return to face my second Chicago winter. My plan for this coming year is to (obviously) be more active, but have this be a how-a-college-foodie-manages-in-dining-halls type of thing, showing you guys quick recipes I can make in my cozy dorm room and updating you on sophomore year shenanigans, which there are bound to be tons of.

Also- I don’t want you guys to think I’m not baking. I made this ~amazing~ recipe for Rosh Hashanah yesterday, and daydream about kneading dough. That’s normal…right?

Write soon!

-Rayna

One thought on “A Long Overdue Update

  1. Kimmy September 30, 2015 / 3:42 pm

    Pretty pictures of lovely bake goods please.
    Kim

Leave a Reply

