Cranberry Pear Pie

Good afternoon everybody! I hope the holiday season has been going well for all you guys. I’ve been home for almost a week at this point, thanks to Northwestern’s wonky schedule. I can’t believe that I’m already done with my first quarter of sophomore year, but I head back to school the day after New Year’s, so I’m trying to make the most out of the time that I’m back: relaxing, baking, practicing, and going into New York City a whole bunch. Chicago is great and all, but I really do miss the northeast while I’m at school. I already have my heart set on living/going to school in NYC after Northwestern, but I still have many years before that.

I have an overwhelming love for cranberries, specifically raw cranberries. I’ll eat them by the handful, and it amuses my mom to no end. She will specifically buy them for me in anticipation for my return, and in this case, it was Thanksgiving. Although I made this beautiful pie for dessert for my Thanksgiving meal, it would be a wonderful addition to any dessert potluck or get-together this holiday season. Between the thousands of cookies that are bound to be offered, this stunner is sure to stand out.

I’ll admit- I did cheat a bit and use frozen pie crust. Partly because I don’t really eat the pie crust anyway, and partly because I planned out my dessert baking poorly and didn’t have the hours for homemade pie crust to chill in the fridge. I loved the addition of pears- the extreme sweetness counteracted the especially tart raw cranberries, and it made a pretty darn good breakfast the day after too 🙂

DSC_2508.jpg

Cranberry Pear Pie

From Williams Sonoma

Ingredients

  • 1 package Immaculate Baking pie crusts
  • 2.5 pounds pears, peeled, cored, and sliced
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1.5 cups fresh or frozen cranberries
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water
  • Turbinado Sugar

Directions

  1. Fit one pie crust into a 9-inch baking dish and refrigerate until ready to use.
  2. Take the other pie crust and cut into strips, of either equal or varying widths. Place on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and refrigerate until ready to use.
  3. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  4. For the filling, in a medium pot, combine the pears, brown sugar, granulated sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice, and cornstarch. Cover and cook until the pears are tender, but not mushy, approximately 15-20 minutes. Let cool to room temperature.
  5. Stir in the cranberries to the pear mixture and pour into the prepared baking dish.
  6. Take the strips of crust to create a lattice.
  7. Brush the lattice crust with the egg wash and sprinkle with turbinado sugar.
  8. Bake until the crust is golden brown and the filling begins to bubble, about 45 minutes- 1 hour, but begin checking the oven after 30 minutes.

It’s certainly nice to have an oven again!

-Rayna

Leave a Reply

